Upcycled Flying Squirrel

After working on the Rapunzel dress for a while, I needed a break.  I came across this super cute tutorial on Wild Olive for a flying squirrel.  The best part is that the pattern is free!  It seemed like the perfect thing to make to de-stress about Rapunzel’s dress.  The tutorial is excellent and even has links when it lists a more technical sewing term, like what a ladder stitch is.

I went to gather my materials and realized I don’t have any light grey fleece.  No worries though, I have this habit of saving old shirts to be reused for fabric if I like the material.  So I found this grey sweatshirt and the material was perfectly worn in and would make a nice, soft squirrel.  I love up-cycling, and it makes a project even sweeter when I am able to create something from something old and unused. I printed the pattern and then cut all the pieces needed out. 2 tails (one in reverse), two head pieces, two body pieces.  Out of felt I cut four legs, two ears and a nose.  Now in the tutorial it talks about using safety eyes, I didn’t have any so I used navy blue buttons.

IMG_0052Next I started assembly of the tail, right sides facing and pinned together.  I sewed all the way around except for the top of the tail.  I ten flipped it right side and lightly stuffed it with polyfill.

IMG_0054The next part of assembly was to put together the head.  First I needed to hand sew the details on the face.  I put the nose on first, then the two eyes and then sewed the mouth on using 4 strands of thread doubled up.  After I finished that I place the ears on and then put the back of the head with right sides facing and sewed it together all the way around.  The next step was to rip a small hole in the back of the head and stuff it tightly with polyfill.  After it’s stuffed I learned what a ladder stitch was and closed the hole using the my new skill.

IMG_0053

IMG_0055

IMG_0056

The next step was to put the body pieces together right sides facing and making sure to put the tail and feet inside.  I forgot the tail until I had pinned it all together so I had to unpin, add it, and repin.  After I pinned it together I sewed all the way around except for three inches near the top which was used to turn it right side out after sewing and then ladder stitched the hole closed. I then placed the head on the body as indicated on the pattern which was not on the top but a little offset, and hand sewed with a ladder stitch all the way around the head.

IMG_0057

IMG_0058

IMG_0059

 It turned out super super cute and I kinda don’t want to give it to my daughter, Chloe.  I think my husband would like it at work as a stress relief toy, it is so much fun to throw because it opens up just like a flying squirrel.  I took some pictures of it finished outside and then Chloe wanted to help me show it so she played with it and I took some fun pictures.

IMG_0066

IMG_0067

IMG_0070 IMG_0073

One thought on “Upcycled Flying Squirrel

Leave a Reply

